arcanum-unbounded-the-cosmere-collectionWelcome to New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller Brandon Sanderson’s first collection of short fiction.

These wonderful works, originally published individually, have been collected for the first time and convey the true expanse of the Cosmere. Telling the exciting tales of adventure Sanderson fans have come to expect, Arcanum Unbounded include the Hugo Award-winning novella ‘The Emperor’s Soul’, an excerpt from the graphic novel ‘White Sand’, and the never-before-published Stormlight Archive novella ‘Edgedancer’.

The collection will include nine works in all:
‘Edgedancer’ (Stormlight Archive)
‘The Hope of Elantris’ (Elantris)
‘The Eleventh Metal’ (Mistborn)
‘The Emperor’s Soul’ (Elantris)
‘Allomancer Jak and the Pits of Eltania’ (excerpt; Mistborn)
‘White Sand’ (excerpt; Taldain)
‘Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell’ (Threnody)
‘Sixth of Dusk’ (First of the Sun)
‘Mistborn: Secret History’ (Mistborn)

This superb collection also includes essays and illustrations which offer an insight into the numerous worlds in which the stories are set.

Title: Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Publication Date: 24th November 2016

Series: It’s just a short book of stories from the Cosmere (the universe in which his books are set).

The inconsistency of this review with my other reviews is bothering me. IT’S A BOOK OF BOOKS. HOW DO I REVIEW THIS?

Regardless, here’s my ultra rambly post because that’s my blog’s motto. (If it wasn’t before, it now is.)

The Review:

Basically, this book contains 9 short stories which are all set in the Cosmere universe. Therefore, you will be seeing some old characters again.

(KELSIER. We get to see him training to be a badass Mistborn.)

It was absolutely amazing to see old characters reappear. Stories were set from the past or future. It was a great read for someone like me, who’s read the Mistborn series and Elantris. Some stories do contain spoilers though, so it’s really aimed more at peeps who’s read the books. *glares at anyone who hasn’t*

This book is really an exploration of the Cosmere universe. Not only does he include short stories, Brandon Sanderson also throws in a few essays, maps (MAPS~ *strokes pages*) and even an excerpt from his comic book *gasps* It really is filled to THE BRIM with his goodness.

(Oh yes – we also find out Sarene becomes pregnant in this book. *dies of laughter because – (you’ll have to find out)*

Since I am a snail (a snail ninja? a ninja snail?), I haven’t got round to reading the other short stories, or the Mistborn stories with Bands of Mourning spoilers.

I read about half of the book though, and can say with honesty that this book will be PERFECT for die-hard fans of his novels. Probably not for you if you haven’t read any of his books.

Actually it’s pretty cool that “The Emperor’s Soul” was also included in this. It’s the longest story in this massive book, and wasn’t really related to any of his already written worlds. Although it’s set in the same world as Elantris apparently, there are no references (not that I spotted anyway), and you could easily read it without knowledge of it.

My only real complaint with this book is that even though I am a massive fan of Mistborn and Elantris, the short stories weren’t pulling enough for me. I did enjoy it, but I wasn’t quite pulled in as much as I had hoped to be. *sad face*

Rating: 4 Stars – See my rating system.

Owned: YES! Many thanks to the publishers for sending me a copy!

Buy your own copy on Amazon here!

Recommended for: Those that enjoy Brandon Sanderson’s novels and can’t get enough of them~

Have you guys read any of Brandon Sanderson’s novels? What did you think of them?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge